National ID pre-registration to start on Oct.7 in 32 provinces

The National ID pre-registration will be rolled out in 32 provinces starting October 7, 2020, according to an official of Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

32 provinces

These provinces have a low risk of COVID 19 cases according to Interior Undersecretary and spokesperson Jonathan Malaya. The 32 provinces are:

  • Ilocos Sur,
  • La Union,
  • Pangasinan,
  • Cagayan,
  • Isabela,
  • Bataan,
  • Bulacan,
  • Nueva Ecija,
  • Pampanga,
  • Tarlac,
  • Zambales,
  • Batangas,
  • Cavite,
  • Laguna,
  • Quezon,
  • Rizal,
  • Albay,
  • Camarines Sur,
  • Masbate,
  • Antique,
  • Capiz,
  • Iloilo,
  • Negros Occidental,
  • Bohol,
  • Cebu,
  • Negros Oriental,
  • Leyte,
  • Compostela Valley,
  • Davao Del Norte,
  • Davao Del Sur,
  • Davao Occidental, and Tawi-Tawi.

The said provinces have already coordinated with the Philippine Statistics Authority as well as with the DILG regional offices. Other areas will be set for next year once the virus has been controlled, he added on a phone interview with the Philippine News Agency.

How will the pre-registration of National ID be done?

Instead of direct registration, Malaya said that they opt to pre-registration to limit the risk of transmission and ensure physical distancing.

With the pre-registration, PSA will be the one to implement house to house and the enumerators will get the basic information such as gender and names. There would be a schedule for the collection of other data that would be done at the municipal hall or government office identified by the local government units. There will be no queues,” he said.

The National ID system aims to provide valid proof of identity for all citizens and resident aliens as a means of simplifying public and private transactions.

Related  27 Additional Colleges now eligible for free tuition

Source: Philippine News Agency

Comments are closed.