List of Presidents of the Philippines

The role of the president of a country is to be the head of state and the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. They are also responsible for appointing government officials and making treaties with other countries. The president is also the spokesperson for the nation and is often seen as a symbol of unity. In some cases, they may also serve as the leader of their political party. The role of president is a complex one, and it can be difficult to keep up with all the different challenges that come with the job.

In this blog post, we will see the list of Presidents in the Philippines.

List of Presidents of the Philippines

This is the list of the President’s from the Philippines starting from Emilio Aguinaldo down to the present one Rodrigo Duterte:

1. Emilio Aguinaldo 1899-1901 (Died in exile in the U.S.)

Vice-President: Mariano C. Trias (elected VP during the Tejeros assembly)

2. Manuel L. Quezon, 1935-1944

Vice-President: Sergio S. Osmeña, Sr

SECOND REPUBLIC (Japanese Occupation)

3. José P. Laurel, 1943-1945

Vice-Presidents: Benigno Aquino, Sr. and Ramon Avancena

4. Sergio Osmeña, 1944-1946 (Assumed the presidency upon the death of Quezon while the Philippine Commonwealth government is in exile in the U.S.)


5. Manuel Roxas, 1946-1948 (Died of a heart attack)

Vice-President: Elpidio R. Quirino

6. Elpidio Quirino, 1948-1953 (Assumed the remaining term & re-elected)

Vice-President: Fernando H. Lopez

7. Ramon Magsaysay, 1953-1957 (Magsaysay died in an airplane crash on March 16, 1957 on Mt. Manunggal in Cebu)

Vice-President: Carlos P. Garcia

Related  How to apply as Philippine Army Reservist?

8. Carlos P. Garcia, 1957-1961 (Assumed the remaining term and re-elected)

Vice-President: Diosdado P. Macapagal

9. Diosdado Macapagal, 1961-1965

Vice-President: Emmanuel N. Pelaez

10. Ferdinand Marcos, 1965-1986 (the first to win 2 presidential terms)

FOURTH REPUBLIC (Martial Law, “The New Republic” & Parliamentary Government)

Ferdinand Marcos (unseated by the People Power Revolution)

(Marcos died in exile in Hawaii on September 28, 1989, of Lupus complications)

Prime Minister Cesar E. A. Virata

Vice-President: Arturo M. Tolentino (proclaimed but did not serve due to the revolt)

FIFTH REPUBLIC (Under the new “People Power” Constitution)

11. Corazon Aquino, 1986-1992

Vice-President: Salvador H. Laurel

12. Fidel V. Ramos, 1992-1998

Vice-President: Joseph Ejercito Estrada

13. Joseph Estrada, 1998-2001 (Deposed by “People Power”)

Vice-President: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

14. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, 2001-2010 (Assumed Estrada’s remaining term & re-elected)

Vice-President: Teofisto T. Guingona (1st term of Arroyo)

Vice-President: Manuel “Noli” Leuterio de Castro (2nd term of Arroyo)

15. Benigno Aquino III, 2010-2016

Vice-President: Jejomar “Jojo” Cabauatan Binay

16. Rodrigo Duterte, 2016-present

Vice-President: Maria Leonor “Leni” Santo Tomas Gerona-Robredo

Those are the former Presidents along with the incumbent ones. Two ladies and fourteen gentlemen composed of the said position of President of the Philippines. If you want to turn back history then you will start who are those who led the sovereignty of the Philippine nation.